Honestly folks, I cannot make this stuff up.  Obama said in a speech that he is embarrased by Americans who travel to other countries and do not speak the local language.  There are plenty of Americans who can’t afford to go to other countries on vacation, why should they learn another language?  Functionally, it wouldn’t make any sense because if you don’t use it, you lose it.  This is a proven fact!

As for me, I’ve learned quite a few phrases in other languages.  My quest for knowledge was fueled by necessity.  I had to learn Japanese to get around Okinawa.  I had to learn how to ask for directions several times.  There is not one country that I’ve been to that I didn’t learn any of they’re languages with the exception of Cuba.  I didn’t have to learn Cuban Spanish because I didn’t interact with Cubans.  It was a locked down base and you can’t necessarily go off base and mingle.

Other than that, most people that learn other languages often learn just enough to pass the course but have problems retaining anything they learned because they don’t use it. 

Democrats can sit back and say he’s right all they want to but it won’t change the fact that these languages will be forgotten as soon as they pass the course.  Case in point, my son took 2 years of spanish.  He probably can’t remember what he learned now as it’s been 7 years since he graduated. 

If you only talk to the foreigners that come to the United States they will tell you that they learned English because it’s the language of money.  So if we use their example, maybe we shouldn’t learn they’re languages unless we’re going to invest in their country? Right?

Obviously this is a slam on the citizens of the United States.  Was he ashamed of Reverend Wright while he sat in the pews for 20 years? or was he merely ashamed after the rest of the country found out what he’d been listening to for 20 years?  A former president once said “A government big enough to give you everything you want, is a government big enough to take everything you have.”  We should remember that when we hit the polls to vote in November.

