Well what can I say.  Tom Morello should be damn glad someone is listening to his group Rage Against the Machine.  I’ve heard a few of their songs and quite frankly they aren’t that good.  They are a group of far left loons that associate themselves with the Democratic party but most will tell you that they are Anarchists like Bill Ayers.

However, Heck, I’d personally record an album for the US military to blast at the detainees and be damn proud of it.  I’d have to dust off the cobwebs on my old equipment but I’d do it if I thought they’d play my music to interrogate a bunch of losers!  I’d run around on tour and joke that I’m still serving while I’m retired.

The bigger question is from a legal standpoint, Do these groups that oppose this have a legitamate beef?  Here’s one of two scenarios because I’m not sure which one applies.  The music studios will send free copies of their CD’s to the Armed Forces Network with approval to broadcast their music.  In fact this gives them a legitamate permission to broadcast their music.  The second scenario is that the military puchased their music from the store and are broadcasting it.  Now before we start crying foul, if I purchased a album and I had a cyber radio broadcast, I’m able to broadcast it over the internet.  Now, I’m sure that’s perfectly legal.  The artists who are being broadcasted in the GTMO prison  detainees cell’s do not have a legal leg to stand on.  That’s exactly why you don’t hear any of them are taking the government to court over this.  Rather, the artists are doing the only thing they can and that’s bitch over it and whine like dogs.

Some musicians, however, say they’re proud that their music is used in interrogations. Those include bassist Stevie Benton, whose group Drowning Pool has performed in Iraq and recorded one of the interrogators’ favorites, “Bodies.” 

“People assume we should be offended that somebody in the military thinks our song is annoying enough that played over and over it can psychologically break someone down,” he told Spin magazine. “I take it as an honor to think that perhaps our song could be used to quell another 9/11 attack or something like that.”

I disagree with Stevie Benton in that their music is not annoying.  It’s loud and it will keep the terrorists from sleeping.   There is a huge difference between annoying them and keeping them awake.  Although it can be annoying and loud at the same time.

